Attention: You are using an outdated browser, device or you do not have the latest version of JavaScript downloaded and so this website may not work as expected. Please download the latest software or switch device to avoid further issues.

News > Careers > Livvy Shelmerdine PGS 2015 - 2017

Livvy Shelmerdine PGS 2015 - 2017

Teaching was always the career Livvy had in mind, but she didn't quite realise how life changing teaching English on the other side of the world could be!
19 Apr 2023
Careers
Livvy's loving the culture and customs of Thailand
Livvy's loving the culture and customs of Thailand

Reflecting on my various education pathways and experiences convinced me that a career in education was what I wanted for myself.  Shaping young minds and being so influential in future generations is a privilege, and every day an exciting challenge.  I joined Pate’s Grammar School for sixth form, having previously attended The Cotswold School.  I studied Primary Education with Mathematics at Reading University and, within weeks of graduating, at just 21 years old, I began my teaching career at Amnuay Silpa School, an English-speaking private school in Bangkok.  It is hard to put into words just how much living and working on the other side of the world these past two years has changed my life.  I have learned a vast amount about different cultures, and about myself.